Call Upon the Water

Publisher: Atria Books Release date: 2019-09-17

Description

Spanning several decades in seventeenth century Great Britain and America, this ';impressive piece of work, rich in historical detail and human insight' (The Sunday Times) is an unforgettable love story exploring the power of nature versus man and man versus woman. I am an engineer and a measured man of the world. I prefer to weigh everything in the balance, to calculate and to plan. Yet my own heart is going faster than I can now count. In 1649, Jan Brunt arrives in Great Britain from the Netherlands to work on draining and developing an expanse of marshy wetlands known as the Great Level. It is here in this wild country that he meets Eliza, a local woman whose love overturns his ordered vision. Determined to help her strive beyond her situation, Jan is heedless of her devotion to her home and way of life. When she uses the education Jan has given her to sabotage his work, Eliza is brutally punished, and Jan flees to the New World. In the American colonies, profiteers on Manatus Eyland are hungry for viable land to develop, and Jan's skills as an engineer are highly prized. His prosperous new life is rattled, however, on a spring morning when a boy delivers a note that prompts him to remember the Great Level, and confront all that was lost there. Eliza has made it to the New World and is once again using the education Jan gave her to bend the landscapethis time to find her own place of freedom. A ';story of passion, possession, and a painful education in love' (Sarah Dunant, author of In the Name of the Family), Call Upon the Water is an adventure, an unusual and intelligent love story, and a powerful comment on the relationship between humans and the environment. ';Richly involvingrousing and heroic' (The Guardian), this unforgettable historical novel is perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel, Geraldine Brooks, and Philippa Gregory. *Note: This book was published in the UK under the title The Great Level.

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Genre: Historical fiction

Collection: Atria Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 288

ISBN: 9781982121013

Additional Information

Genre: Historical fiction

Collection: Atria Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 288

ISBN: 9781982121013

Other ebooks releases by Stella Tillyard
Loading... Please wait