Snow

Publisher: Atria Books Release date: 2019-11-19

Description

Brimming with interesting facts and surprising anecdotes, this scientific and cultural history opens our eyes to the wonders of one of nature's most delicate, delightful, and deadly phenomena: SNOW! Perfect for fans of The Hidden Life of Trees and Rain.Go on an extraordinary journey across centuries and continents to experience the wonders of snow; from the prehistoric humans that trekked and even skied across it tens of thousands of years ago to the multi-billion-dollar industry behind our moving, making, and playing with snow. Blending accessible writing with fascinating science, Giles Whittell explores how snow dictates where we live, provides us with drinking water, and has influenced countless works of art and more. Whittell also uncovers compelling mysteries of this miraculous substance, such as why avalanches happen, how snow saved a British prime minister's life, where the legend of the yeti comes from, and the terrifying truth behind the opening ceremony of the 1960 winter Olympics. Filled with in-depth research and whip-smart prose, Snow is an eye-opening and charming book that illuminates one of the most magnificent wonders of nature.

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Genre: Earth sciences

Collection: Atria Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 256

ISBN: 9781982105495

Additional Information

Genre: Earth sciences

Collection: Atria Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 256

ISBN: 9781982105495

Other ebooks releases by Giles Whittell
Loading... Please wait