One That Got Away

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group Release date: 2015-03-31

Description

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one's own. Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She's well on her way to having the family she's hoped for since her mother's death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmerand former flameEamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina's life takes an unexpected turn. Eamon proves to be Sarina's dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choicesand Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in lifeand in love. Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman's discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.Praise for The One That Got Away ';A warm, witty, and wise novel, The One That Got Away announces the arrival of a great new voice in fiction.'Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The One and Only ';Love can be complicated, and in The One That Got Away, Bethany Chase captures every nuanced beat of a conflicted heart. An authentic and warm voice infuses this story of humor, heartbreak, and home. While Sarina finds her way, we as readers might also find a way back to our own unique lives.'Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of And Then I Found You ';This perfectly paced story is full of fresh, engaging characters, but Chase's greatest accomplishment is Sarina Mahler. Sarina is so human, her inner world such a compelling mix of guarded and open-hearted, confident and faltering, thatthrough every loss, every funny moment, every blazing triumphI felt completely with her and grateful to be there.'Marisa de los Santos, New York Times bestselling author of Falling Together';[A] sparkling debut [that] packs serious emotional punches . . . This utterly enjoyable romance will have readers swooning, sobbing, and eagerly anticipating Chase's next book.'Kirkus Reviews

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Genre: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Collection: Ballantine Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 352

ISBN: 9780804179430

Additional Information

Genre: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Collection: Ballantine Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 352

ISBN: 9780804179430

Other ebooks releases by Bethany Chase
Loading... Please wait