Barkskins

Editora: Scribner Data de lançamento: 2016-06-14

Descrição

Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020! A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book From the Pulitzer Prizewinning author of The Shipping News and ';Brokeback Mountain,' comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world's forests: ';Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx's distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written' (San Francisco Chronicle).In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, Ren Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cuttersbarkskins. Ren suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred yearstheir travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealandthe revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse. ';A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading' (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx's inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. ';This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice' (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins ';is an awesome monument of a book' (The Washington Post)';the masterpiece she was meant to write' (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, ';This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of ';Brokeback Mountain.''

Hide/show more

Informação Adicional

Gênero: Historical fiction

Coleção: Scribner

Typo: EPub

Páginas: 736

ISBN: 9781476771823

Informação Adicional

Gênero: Historical fiction

Coleção: Scribner

Typo: EPub

Páginas: 736

ISBN: 9781476771823

Conteúdo alternativo sugerido: Annie Proulx
Carregando… favor aguardar