Just Like Jackie

Publisher: HarperCollins Release date: 2018-01-02

Description

Family is family, no matter what it looks like. Readers will cheer for this pitch-perfect story, just right for fans of such books as The Great Gilly Hopkins and Fish in a Tree.For as long as Robinson Hart can remember, its just been her and Grandpa. He taught her about cars, baseball, and everything else worth knowing. But Grandpas memory has been getting badso bad that he sometimes cant even remember Robbies name.Shes sure that shes making things worse by getting in trouble at school, but she cant resist using her fists when bullies like Alex Carter make fun of her for not having a mom.Now shes stuck in group guidanceand to make things even worse, Alex Carter is there too. Theres no way Robbies going to open up about her life to some therapy group, especially not with Alex in the room. Besides, if she told anyone how forgetfulGrandpas been getting lately, theyd take her away from him. Hes the only family she hasand its up to her to keep them together, no matter what.Praise for Just Like Jackie:"e;I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family."e;Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of PaxJust Like Jackie is a lovely story of acceptanceabout what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences.Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign"e;A fresh coming-of-age novel as feisty, funny, and forthright as its protagonist. Robinson overcomes obstacles with wit, grit, and a growing compassion for others, showing us that families are what we make them and happiness is found in the simple gifts we take for granted. A rich, rewarding read all around."e;John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby's Last DayAs close to perfect as a book for middle grade children can get!Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck "e;Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimers, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of familywhat seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration."e;Kirkus Reviews (starred review)A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family.School Library JournalDebut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.Booklist

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Genre: Family & home stories (Children's/YA)

Collection: HarperCollins

Type: EPub

Pages: 272

ISBN: 9780062652935

Additional Information

Genre: Family & home stories (Children's/YA)

Collection: HarperCollins

Type: EPub

Pages: 272

ISBN: 9780062652935

Other ebooks releases by Lindsey Stoddard
Loading... Please wait