Dollbaby

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group Release date: 2014-07-03

Description

A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra PickA big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleansa novel of Southern eccentricity and secretsWhen Ibby Bells father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her fathers urn for good measure. Fannies New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever beenand Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylumis like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannies black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.For Fannies own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibbys arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbabys hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Genre: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Collection: Penguin Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 352

ISBN: 9781101614716

Additional Information

Genre: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Collection: Penguin Books

Type: EPub

Pages: 352

ISBN: 9781101614716

Other ebooks releases by Laura Lane McNeal
Loading... Please wait